Fellows of the Paleontological Society

Call for nominations for Fellows of the Paleontological Society

Fellows are members of the Paleontological Society who have made significant contributions to paleontology through research, teaching, or service to the profession. Recipients of the Paleontological Society Medal and the Charles Schuchert Award automatically become Fellows if they have not previously been elected to fellowship.

Deadline for nominations: February 28, 2020
Nominations will remain active for three years.

Who May Nominate?

Any member of the Paleontological Society may nominate another member for election to fellowship.

How to Nominate
The nomination dossiers should include a letter outlining the contributions of the nominee, along with a CV or biographical sketch of the nominee. The letter should focus on those contributions that are most likely to be salient to fellow paleontologists; information on citations, grants, previous professional recognition, etc. is generally less helpful.

The nomination must also have the support of two active Fellows; this support can be as simple as endorsing the nominating letter (i.e. additional letters are not required). Nominations coming from a Fellow require the support of one additional Fellow.

Finally, all nominees must separately complete a PS Professional Conduct Self-Reporting Form as prescribed in the Paleontological Society Policy on Non-Discrimination and Member Code of Conduct. The completed form should be submitted to [email protected]. If, for any reason, a nominee is uncomfortable about completing the form, they are welcome to contact a member of the ethics committee for a confidential conversation in advance.

Please send nominations to the Chair of the Committee of Fellows (Peter Wilf: [email protected]) or the Secretary of the Society (Claudia C Johnson: [email protected]). You can also submit nominations using this form.

Fellows of the Paleontological Society

Warren D. Allmon
John Alroy 
William I. Ausich 
Loren E. Babcock 
Catherine E. Badgley 
Richard K. Bambach 
Tomasz K. Baumiller
Anna K. Behrensmeyer 
Stefan M. Bengtson 
William A. Berggren 
Stig M. Bergström 
Daniel B. Blake 
David J. Bottjer 
Lisa Park Boush
C. Kevin Boyce 
Carlton E. Brett 
Derek E. G. Briggs 
Ann F. Budd 
Martin A. Buzas 
Sandra Carlson 
Robert L. Carroll 
Alan H. Cheetham 
William A. Clemens 
Laurel S. Collins
Simon Conway Morris 
Peter R. Crane
Stephen J. Culver 
Mary R. Dawson 
William A. DiMichele
Philip Donoghue
Mary L. Droser
Lucy E. Edwards
Niles Eldredge 
Michael Engel
Douglas H. Erwin 
Rodney M. Feldmann 
Daniel C. Fisher 
Karl W. Flessa 
Michael J. Foote
Richard Fortey
Robert A. Gastaldo 
Philip D. Gingerich 
Carole S. Hickman 
Steven M. Holland 
Gene Hunt 
Linda Ivany
David Jablonski 
Jeremy Jackson 
Christine M. Janis 
Kirk Johnson
Douglas S. Jones
Thomas Kammer


Patricia H. Kelley 
James P. Kennett 
Susan M. Kidwell 
Wolfgang Kiessling
Gilbert Klapper 
Andrew H. Knoll 
Paul L. Koch 
Michal Kowalewski 
Conrad C. Labandeira
Estella Leopold
Bruce S. Lieberman 
Jere H. Lipps 
Rowan Lockwood 
Bruce J. MacFadden
Christopher G. Maples 
Charles Marshall
George R. McGhee, Jr. 
David L. Meyer
Arnold I. Miller 
Pamela Hallock Muller
Thomas Olszewski 
Allison R. Palmer 
John Pandolfi
Ronald L. Parsley 
Mark Patzkowsky
Jonathan L. Payne
Shanan Peters
Roy E. Plotnick
Susannah Porter
Donald R. Prothero 
Anne Raymond
Richard A. Robison 
Gar W. Rothwell
Bruce Runnegar 
J. William Schopf 
Alan B. Shaw 
Peter M. Sheehan 
James T. Sprinkle 
Steven M. Stanley
Alycia Stigall
Caroline Strömberg
Kazushige Tanabe 
Paul Taylor
Roger D.K. Thomas 
James W. Valentine 
Blaire Van Valkenburgh
Geerat J. Vermeij 
Bridget Wade
Peter J. Wagner 
Sally Walker
Thomas R. Waller
Stephen Westrop
Peter Wilf
Mark Wilson
Scott L. Wing 
Shuhai Xiao


Deceased Fellows

Arthur J. Boucot
John Pojeta, Jr
Stephen J. Gould
Jack A. Wolfe
William A. Cobban
J. Thomas Dutro
Anita G. Harris
Leo J. Hickey
Farish A. Jenkins, Jr.
Roger L. Kaesler
Erle G. Kauffman
Malcolm C. McKenna
David M. Raup
J. Keith Rigby, Sr.
June R. P. Ross
Adolf Seilacher
Walter C. Sweet
Harry B. Whittington
Ellis L. Yochelson